On a Bridge

View from the bridge by Lucy Furlong
View from the bridge by Lucy Furlong
I’d taken a risk with the weather that day,

Which’d held until Worcester Park.

The London sublime sound of cars rushing elsewhere

Hummed in the background, and then was gone.

I walked up Southwood Drive

And reccied my position on top of a street sign

That marked my turn left into Oakdene Drive.

I strode up the hill and round to the right

Looking at a porch with a figure of a yacht

Marked out on the window.

The grey late winter held,

As some cast iron steps rose up from the ground

I sailed up, the Atlantic low blustering from the left

And below, towards the Tolworth Tower

Cars, some with headlights on, zipped by

Like a dream of an American city.

I looked towards Croydon, and Crystal Palace,

The Shard behind a hill, Canary Wharf giving birth

To Norwood. This was what I wanted.

As I stepped down to turn towards Highfield Road,

The weather broke.

22/02/2015 and 14/09/2015

By Paul Miner
@PaulMiner3 
Paul's LinkedIn Profile

Save

Leave a Reply

