Meditation on Hiraeth

 

Elan Valley, June 2016

I am coming back to me.

I see my reflection in the landscape,

in the place, in the sounds, the smells, the language.

I see myself, whole.

 

Feel my feet planted in the ground.

Sense my roots deep and strong.

I feel the living wood,

the sun on my skin, filling me with light.

 

Hear the breath of the breeze move through me.

Feel the cool water as it runs over my feet.

Feel it in my veins. Taste it.

It is a part of me.

 

Let me sit on this hillside,

body close to the earth,

The rhythm of life beats in me,

As above, so below.

 

My heart sings out loud, a ‘calon lan’,

I am of the land where Oaks grow

and birdsong fills my being.

I am home.

 

Ruth Raymer

Ruth is a walker, thinker, dreamer and writer. She says that her soul speaks in Welsh and Hiraeth pulls her back to Wales at every opportunity.In October 2017, she will embark on PhD research at the University of Essex as a CHASE DTP scholar, writing on the concept of Home and the human search for it.

Save

Save

Save

Save

2 thoughts on “Meditation on Hiraeth

Leave a Reply

